Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine is located in Dayton, Ohio, and serves the Miami Valley region of Southwest Ohio. Its educational programs include:

  • Medical education leading to the M.D., MD/PhD, MD/MBA, or MD/MPH degree for about 460 medical students;
  • Residency training in 13 medical specialties and fellowship training in 10 subspecialties for about 460 resident physicians and fellows;
  • Master's degree programs in pharmacology/toxicology and public health.
  • A wide variety of continuing medical education programs for practicing physicians in the community.

Instead of operating a university-based hospital for clinical training, Wright State is affiliated with eight major teaching hospitals in the region and has formal affiliation agreements with more than 25 other health care institutions in the Miami Valley. This model exposes medical students and resident physicians to a diverse range of patients and health care facilities. Medical educators believe this "real world" experience is excellent preparation for medical careers in a rapidly changing health care system.

The school's academic departments include basic science departments located on the Wright State University campus and clinical departments based throughout the community. Wright State's clinical faculty teach and provide medical care for almost half a million patient visits annually. In addition to almost 485 full-time faculty, Wright State's voluntary faculty include more than 1,280 physicians in private practice and other health care professionals in the community. Voluntary faculty provide an invaluable service by donating their time and expertise to the training and development of both medical students and residents.

Our innovative educational programs have made the Boonshoft School of Medicine a national leader in generalist medicine, community service and the diversity of our student body. Our research programs are distinguished by interdisciplinary teamwork and community collaboration and include nationally recognized centers of excellence in genomics, toxicology, neuroscience, substance abuse and treatment, and human growth and development.

A Carnegie-classified research university with nearly 18,000 students on two campuses, Wright State University offers more than 230 degree programs through eight colleges and three schools, including the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Share This Page